Site Search:

Get TEFL Certified & Start Your Adventure Today!
Teach English Abroad and Get Paid to see the World!
Job Discussion Forums Forum Index Job Discussion Forums
"The Internet's Meeting Place for ESL/EFL Students and Teachers from Around the World!"

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

HELP PLEASE!

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Job Discussion Forums Forum Index -> Saudi Arabia
View previous topic :: View next topic  
sharpy

PostPosted: Mon Sep 08, 2003 1:44 pm    Post subject: HELP PLEASE! Reply with quote

Dear M.E experts,

I am thinking about moving to either Saudi Arabia or to Oman for a teaching position. Here are my choices at the moment:

1) IPA (Riyadh? Dammam? or Jeddah?)

2) Sulatane Qaboos University, Oman

3) King Faisal University: Dammam

I have my Master's degree, TESOL certificates as well as 8 years teaching experience. Also, I am married and I have a son. I am presently doing well here in Japan in terms of money and vacation time, but I think it's time for me to move because here they do not pay schooling for my child, and I am getting fed up from the routine. Saudi Arabia seems all right in terms of money, but what really bothers me, is that ALCOHOL IS BANNED IN THE KINGDOM., and I am a social drinker.

PLEASE HELP and remember that your input is highly appreciated!
Paul in Saudi

PostPosted: Mon Sep 08, 2003 1:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Alcohol is widely available here. Not to worry.

Getting a married-status job might be more of an issue.
Cleopatra

PostPosted: Tue Sep 09, 2003 10:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Paul is right: finding (home brew) alcohol is not a problem here. In fact, many people who rarely drink at home do so here because of the boredom.