Site Search:

Get TEFL Certified & Start Your Adventure Today!
Teach English Abroad and Get Paid to see the World!
Job Discussion Forums Forum Index Job Discussion Forums
"The Internet's Meeting Place for ESL/EFL Students and Teachers from Around the World!"

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Americans in Berlin?
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Shaytess

PostPosted: Fri Jun 22, 2007 10:36 am    Post subject: Americans in Berlin? Reply with quote

I am moving to Berlin with my American husband in September. I've been reading how dire the situation for jobs is for Americans. I know there must be some Americans teaching in Berlin, though... I am a highly-qualified ESL teacher (M.A. in Applied Linguistics, TESOL Certificate) and am wondering if this will help me find a job, despite the fact that I am American. Can any Americans in Berlin please tell me how they found their jobs? Are you working 2 part-time jobs? Will universities hire? Any advice would be appreciated, because I am definitely moving and I definitely need to work.
THANKS!
spiral78

PostPosted: Fri Jun 22, 2007 11:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You need to check the current German Embassy website for visa restrictions on US workers in the field. The laws have tightened quite a bit over the past two or three years.

One possible route (which has worked for me) is to see whether your husband's company (I'm assuming he works for either an international corp or a US-based one doing business in Germany) can negotiate a work permit for non-EU spouses of its staff.