Site Search:

Get TEFL Certified & Start Your Adventure Today!
Teach English Abroad and Get Paid to see the World!
Job Discussion Forums Forum Index Job Discussion Forums
"The Internet's Meeting Place for ESL/EFL Students and Teachers from Around the World!"

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

My situation...HELP!!

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Job Discussion Forums Forum Index -> Newbie Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
laing88

PostPosted: Sun Mar 02, 2008 6:25 am    Post subject: My situation...HELP!! Reply with quote

I am a complete newbie in the ESL world. I am 19 years old with no teaching experience and no quals save my HSC. I am passionate at travelling, and I am certain that I would love teaching overseas. But I have a commitment at university next year. Here is my question: Would it be worth completing my CELTA (I have been accepted) and teaching for a period of around six months before uni? I would really value the experience, but I have negligable cash for supporting myself. Would it be better for me to wait 5 years, get a masters, and then get into ESL? or would I stand a chance now, and in which country??
I look forward with any responses. I am of the impression that China is the country best suited for me atm, is there any short term work available that could supprt me with flights and accomodations, or is that asking too much??
thnx, laing
Mike_2007

PostPosted: Sun Mar 02, 2008 6:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi there,