Site Search:

Get TEFL Certified & Start Your Adventure Today!
Teach English Abroad and Get Paid to see the World!
Job Discussion Forums Forum Index Job Discussion Forums
"The Internet's Meeting Place for ESL/EFL Students and Teachers from Around the World!"

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

ESOL versus TEFL

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Job Discussion Forums Forum Index -> General North America Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
chuchaqui

PostPosted: Mon Nov 10, 2003 8:25 pm    Post subject: ESOL versus TEFL Reply with quote

I have been teaching ESOL (English for speakers of other languages) to middle schoolers the past few months here in the USA in anticipation of going to Latin America in about 7 weeks, where I will be getting a TEFL certificate and teach for a few years. Although I have no experience teaching English as a foreign language abroad, I assume that getting experience teaching it as a second language, in an English speaking country, would give me some insight as to what it is like teaching TEFL abroad

I do have some worries though. I taught Spanish in middle school last year (my first year as a teacher) and hated every minute of it. The majority of the students honestly did not see any point in learning Spanish and to be honest, I didn't either. Having obtained fluency in Spanish myself and knowing just how hard it is and how much time it takes to master another language, I was more than a bit discouraged knowing that, at best, one out of the 135 students I taught would ever take the time to gain a high enough level of proficiency in Spanish to do them any good at all.