Site Search:

Get TEFL Certified & Start Your Adventure Today!
Teach English Abroad and Get Paid to see the World!
Job Discussion Forums Forum Index Job Discussion Forums
"The Internet's Meeting Place for ESL/EFL Students and Teachers from Around the World!"

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Is a TESOL certificate a good thing or just a scam?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Job Discussion Forums Forum Index -> General Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
littleme

PostPosted: Fri Nov 14, 2003 2:24 am    Post subject: Is a TESOL certificate a good thing or just a scam? Reply with quote

I'm thinking about getting a TESOL certificate through TEFL in Italy. It's a four week program. Is this concept a scam or is it something that DOES look good on your teaching resume. I am a public school teacher in the US who would like to teach in Europe. I'm also looking for a reason to go to Italy for a few weeks, but only if it's an affordable program that will actually HELP me in finding work overseas.

Again, is the TESOL certificate a resume-helper or just a scam? Thank you in advance for your help!
denise

PostPosted: Fri Nov 14, 2003 2:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Depends on the program--there are many good ones out there, and there are also some scams. You say yours is a four-week one--that sounds good. (I've heard some sketchy things about the one-week courses.) How much practice teaching time does yours include?

A lot of schools will ask for one. Your prior teaching experience may offset it, but I don't know. But even if schools don't require one, teaching in the States might be a bit different from doing EFL, so at the very least the course will prepare you.