Site Search:

Get TEFL Certified & Start Your Adventure Today!
Teach English Abroad and Get Paid to see the World!
Job Discussion Forums Forum Index Job Discussion Forums
"The Internet's Meeting Place for ESL/EFL Students and Teachers from Around the World!"

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Hotels For New Year

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Job Discussion Forums Forum Index -> Singapore
View previous topic :: View next topic  
ajc19810

PostPosted: Thu Jan 01, 2009 3:40 am    Post subject: Hotels For New Year Reply with quote

While this is not an ESL question. I am an ESL teacher in Vietnam taking holidays from the ESL world and heading to Singapore to celebrate Lunar New Year.

Can anybody suggest a good hotel to stay at for a week for me and my family?

Thanks
sojourner

Location: nice, friendly, easy-going (ALL) Peoples' Republic of China

PostPosted: Fri Jan 02, 2009 10:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

Unfortunately, most hotels in Singapore appear to be quite expensive - but there are some bargains !

Over the past 30 years, nearly everytime I have visited Singapore I have stayed at the Southeast Asia Hotel, located at 190 Waterloo St (www.seahotel.com.sg ). I suppose it could be classified as 2-star.It is close to an MTR station (Buggis, I think), and is within reasonable walking distance from the museum, art gallery, as well as Orchard Rd, Senagoon Rd (Little India) and Buggis St. However, I think that the tariffs, as indicated on the website, might be a little out of date - so, email them for the current rates.(I believe that the tariff still includes a light Western-style, or Asian-style , breakfast ).