Site Search:

Get TEFL Certified & Start Your Adventure Today!
Teach English Abroad and Get Paid to see the World!
Job Discussion Forums Forum Index Job Discussion Forums
"The Internet's Meeting Place for ESL/EFL Students and Teachers from Around the World!"

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Just showing up

View previous topic :: View next topic  
lemke2020

PostPosted: Tue May 12, 2009 6:51 am    Post subject: Just showing up Reply with quote

How much money, minimum, should I show up with say in Kiev? I have BA, tefl, 3 years experience. How long can I expect to look for a job before finding a 20-25hr/wk gig?

Also, do most esl teachers tend to end up in the red, break even, or save a little in the Ukraine?

Also, do you like living in the Ukraine? Positives/negatives?

Thanks
abauer

PostPosted: Fri May 22, 2009 10:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

So you wanna come to Kiev.

Just to let you know, the economic situation already sucked before the crises hit, however if you can find a good a employer (they are few and far in between, but they exists), then you should be good. I know a guy who has been teaching here for the past 8 years, so anything is possible.
If you don't know any Russian, I'd suggest you learn ASAP, it'll help! If you're willing to adapt to Slavonic culture, then you shouldn't have that many issues living here. With your quals, I'm sure you can find a job with a reputable employer. I can suggest Nova Mova and...I forgot the name, but here's the web-address english.com.ua if ye seek ye shall find!

Goods and Bads. I'll start with the goods

- Low prices on stuff
- Hospitable people (but you need to get acquainted with a local or few to experience this)
- Natural food, and some of the best food you'll ever eat
- Very nice historical sights
- Very good metro (train) system