Site Search:

Get TEFL Certified & Start Your Adventure Today!
Teach English Abroad and Get Paid to see the World!
Job Discussion Forums Forum Index Job Discussion Forums
"The Internet's Meeting Place for ESL/EFL Students and Teachers from Around the World!"

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Any writers out there?
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Job Discussion Forums Forum Index -> General Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
MattElz

PostPosted: Wed Jan 28, 2004 10:43 pm    Post subject: Any writers out there? Reply with quote

I am a freelance writer and though things are starting to take off for me on that front to a certain degree here in the US, I can't shake whatever it is that's pulling me across the ocean.

My interest in doing this is a desire to travel and explore other cultures (obviously), but I am also considering teaching as a career path (if I like it.) This is because I just feel that although writing is probably my greatest passion, it's a little isolating to do 24/7. And also it seems like there is more of a tangible contribution to be made as a teacher (granted your students are willing to be motivated.)

That said, how many of you left home for an overseas teaching experience - and are writers of some sort? Is it possible or common to have parallel careers in writing and teaching English abroad?

How did it all mesh together? Did you have to compromise your dedication to one field or the other?
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
khmerhit

PostPosted: Wed Jan 28, 2004 11:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote