Site Search:

Get TEFL Certified & Start Your Adventure Today!
Teach English Abroad and Get Paid to see the World!
Job Discussion Forums Forum Index Job Discussion Forums
"The Internet's Meeting Place for ESL/EFL Students and Teachers from Around the World!"

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

scot47 for President

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Job Discussion Forums Forum Index -> Saudi Arabia
View previous topic :: View next topic  
blindjackdog

PostPosted: Fri Feb 06, 2004 1:11 am    Post subject: scot47 for President Reply with quote

Actually, I just want to ask a question or two:

How are PhDs viewed over there, ie, do they get you good jobs? My almost-complete PhD is in "English" (ie lit), not tesol or anything, but I have a good 5 years' tesol experience split between Thailand and New Zealand, good references etc, as well as tutoring in my english dept here. MA as well, also in lit. Male, 32. NZer.

Also, I'm nearby the region for a conference in June (when scot47 vows to be escaping it) and thought of attempting preparatory interviews or some such with the view to scoring a job in September or so. Is this a totally ludicrous thought? (I understand someone would have to sponser me to get a short-term visa.) The idea would be to find a nice job, assuming that what's advertised on the net isn't necessarily the best the Kingdom has to offer. Am I dreaming?

If your answers to the above are in any way encouraging I'll no doubt have more to ask later.

Although scot might suggest that I save myself the pain and become a bus driver. Surely, scot47, of all people, you certainly understand that among the things I cannot change are the past, the present and the future.
scot47

PostPosted: Fri Feb 06, 2004 1:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote