Site Search:

Get TEFL Certified & Start Your Adventure Today!
Teach English Abroad and Get Paid to see the World!
Job Discussion Forums Forum Index Job Discussion Forums
"The Internet's Meeting Place for ESL/EFL Students and Teachers from Around the World!"

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Teaching Italy:about teaching and about homophobia in Italy!

View previous topic :: View next topic  
nagel5

PostPosted: Thu Dec 10, 2009 4:49 pm    Post subject: Teaching Italy:about teaching and about homophobia in Italy! Reply with quote

I am a recent graduate of University and a CELTA qualified teacher. I would very much like to teach in Italy, and plan to move there early this coming January 2010.
I have several questions:

1) I have been told by several teachers in Italy that moving there (and applying for jobs) would be better than applying for jobs whilst in England, since Italians prefer face-to-face contact! Is this true?

2) I want to learn Italian, but I am scared that I won't have time to balance learning Italian with teaching English. Should this be a concern, and if so, how can I deal with it?

3) I am concerned with the possible homophobia I may encounter in Italy, being a gay man. I have been told that Rome, Milan and Bologne, as well as the big cities, are fairly gay-friendly. However, I am also aware of a recent spate of homophobic attacks in Rome, and am aware that homophobic violence seems to be a problem in Italy- at least a greater problem than here in the UK. Can anyone tell me whether I should worry about this? Should I take this into account in deciding where to teach in Italy? Can anyone also share their experiences of living openly gay in Italy?