Site Search:

Get TEFL Certified & Start Your Adventure Today!
Teach English Abroad and Get Paid to see the World!
Job Discussion Forums Forum Index Job Discussion Forums
"The Internet's Meeting Place for ESL/EFL Students and Teachers from Around the World!"

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Going from Korea to Germany & need advice

View previous topic :: View next topic  
ontheclave

PostPosted: Sun Dec 20, 2009 6:13 am    Post subject: Going from Korea to Germany & need advice Reply with quote

I've been teaching in Korea for almost 1 1/2 years now and I plan to travel to Europe for work as an ESL teacher this late February. I was born in Poland and am working on my European Union membership as well as my TEFL so that when I arrive in Europe, I'll have both. I have my sights set on Germany, preferably Frankfurt, but I've read that the job market is tough even for EU members. My questions are:

(1) Is it possible to get non-business English work in Germany relatively easily? I teach elementary school children so business English instruction sounds totally out of my sphere of experience. If not, how can I increase my chances of getting a job teaching business English?

(2) I read jobs begin usually in September and not in March when I'll be coming. Do I still stand a chance at getting a contract then? I don't want to do work part time because I've heard tax rates are very high for part-timers. I plan to interview when I get to Europe.

(3) Is paid for housing even in option in Germany or do you have to get your own?

(4) Do I have to have a knowledge of basic German to get a teaching job? I've heard I do and I just know some basic words and a few expressions but not much.
spiral78

PostPosted: Sun Dec 20, 2009 7:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote