Site Search:

Get TEFL Certified & Start Your Adventure Today!
Teach English Abroad and Get Paid to see the World!
Job Discussion Forums Forum Index Job Discussion Forums
"The Internet's Meeting Place for ESL/EFL Students and Teachers from Around the World!"

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Jobs in Thessaloniki

View previous topic :: View next topic  
scona85

PostPosted: Mon Jun 07, 2010 4:08 pm    Post subject: Jobs in Thessaloniki Reply with quote

Hellooo! I've just joined this forum in search of some advice...

I'm a recently qualified ESL teacher looking for my first job (to start in September) and I really want to go to Thessaloniki. I want to go here for a number of reasons, the main one being that I already have family there. I've been in contact with the 2 main recruitment agencies in Greece (both of which have already been mentioned in this forum) but I don't think it's likely that they will be able to place me in Thessaloniki. They seem to cater more for smaller towns. Am I right in thinking this? Could anyone offer me some advice on the best way to get a job in Thessaloniki? I've been toying with the idea of going out for a week or so and just hand delivering my CV to every school I can find. Do you think this would be worth my while?

Any advice will be gratefully received!
the_thinker

PostPosted: Tue Jun 08, 2010 12:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I know Anglo-Hellenic definitely used to deal with some schools in Thessaloniki, but I don't know about now. They will definitely try and convince you to take the small-town jobs first, though ...