Site Search:

Get TEFL Certified & Start Your Adventure Today!
Teach English Abroad and Get Paid to see the World!
Job Discussion Forums Forum Index Job Discussion Forums
"The Internet's Meeting Place for ESL/EFL Students and Teachers from Around the World!"

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

CELTA qualified teaching in Asia - with family

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Job Discussion Forums Forum Index -> Newbie Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Passion for ESL

PostPosted: Wed Jul 07, 2010 4:12 am    Post subject: CELTA qualified teaching in Asia - with family Reply with quote

I am looking for a little advice. I am really keen to pursue ESL as a career after volunteer tutoring ESL to migrants in my home country (Australia), and travelling to Nepal to do volunteer work in schools.

I have a bachelor degree and diploma in communications and writing and I have just enrolled to do the CELTA course as a start point. I am considering whether or not to spend a year or two overseas teaching ESL when I graduate from the CELTA course (assuming that I do).

The only concern I have is how viable it is to support a family while teaching ESL. I have a 2 and 5 year old so we were thinking it would be probably our last chance before they get into the school years to do something like this. My husband would be happy to do the childrearing for a year, and we could take extra money if needed. We were thinking somewhere in SE Asia, Vietnam or Cambodia appeals most.

We have done the volunteer work in Nepal, but that was before kids. Any thoughts would be so appreciated. If it's not really viable I would be happy to start teaching here, but would love the opportunity to do this.
Glenski

PostPosted: Wed Jul 07, 2010 9:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote