Site Search:

Get TEFL Certified & Start Your Adventure Today!
Teach English Abroad and Get Paid to see the World!
Job Discussion Forums Forum Index Job Discussion Forums
"The Internet's Meeting Place for ESL/EFL Students and Teachers from Around the World!"

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Questions about teaching in CR

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Job Discussion Forums Forum Index -> Costa Rica
View previous topic :: View next topic  
travellust

PostPosted: Mon Nov 29, 2010 5:45 pm    Post subject: Questions about teaching in CR Reply with quote

I am very interested in teaching English in CR starting this summer. I've decided that because I have no previous teaching experience, I'd for sure like to do a TEFL certification. I've narrowed it down to two choices:

Costa Rica TEFL (www.costaricatefl.com) in Samsara
CFTD - Center for Teacher Development (www.teachenglishcostarica.com) in San Jose

I know that location-wise, I would rather not do my training OR teach in San Jose. I would much prefer not to live in such a big city and everything I've read says that you should do your training where you want to end up working. So I would make the easy decision to go with the Samsara Costa Rica TEFL since I've heard some really good things about it, but I'm worried about not being able to have assistance getting a work visa or a temporary resident (6mo) visa and CFTD website says that they're the only TESOL school that helps teacher secure work visas.