Site Search:

Get TEFL Certified & Start Your Adventure Today!
Teach English Abroad and Get Paid to see the World!
Job Discussion Forums Forum Index Job Discussion Forums
"The Internet's Meeting Place for ESL/EFL Students and Teachers from Around the World!"

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Arriving in Bogota in May 2011
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Job Discussion Forums Forum Index -> Colombia
View previous topic :: View next topic  
RayMarkDane

PostPosted: Sun Jan 09, 2011 9:28 pm    Post subject: Arriving in Bogota in May 2011 Reply with quote

Hello Everyone,

I am a newbie here and to ESL in general. I have been reading the forum for a while and now the time has come to join in. For better, or worse I have decided to change career and scenery.

I am about to embark on the CELTA at IH in Bogota from May.
There are several questions I would like to ask some of the more knowledgeable people on the ground, so to speak...

My course will be completed at the end of May and hopefully, I shall hold a shiny new CELTA certificate.

Firstly, am I standing there with a certificate, an honours degree and some part-time UK college experience behind me, completely at the wrong time of the year to seek work in Colombia?

Secondly, would I be in a position to apply to local schools directly?

I am remaining for one month after completion of the course to seek work. Is this enough time, or should I allow more time? Perhaps two months post course?

Another thing in the back of my mind is the topic of Business English or various other areas of technical English. For instance, I have a technical background in IT and a technical background in Construction. I have run my own small business based in the UK, whilst working across western and eastern Europe.