Site Search:

Get TEFL Certified & Start Your Adventure Today!
Teach English Abroad and Get Paid to see the World!
Job Discussion Forums Forum Index Job Discussion Forums
"The Internet's Meeting Place for ESL/EFL Students and Teachers from Around the World!"

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Muchas Preguntas
Goto page 1, 2  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Elok

PostPosted: Fri Jan 14, 2011 12:44 am    Post subject: Muchas Preguntas Reply with quote

Yeah, so I, too, have become interested in teaching overseas, for a whole boatload of reasons. I'm a substitute teacher right now, and I'd like to do some actual teaching. I've only been considering the idea for a little while, but I like the sound of Peru, esp. Trujillo (I'm asthmatic, and therefore leery of mountain air). I had a fair amount of Spanish in high school, and it tends to come back quickly when needed. But, of course, there are things I'd like to know:

-How's the internet access? Obviously there's some availability, but is high-speed available in most cities? The reason I ask is that my wife has a very nice telecommuting job which she could conceivably keep, thereby making my salary much more negotiable. We have over $10K stashed between us anyway, but it'd be awesome if we didn't even have to dip into it.

-From my digging on these forums, it sounds like TEFL is a much more reasonably-priced venture if you do it in another country, but I haven't had any success looking up such programs--El Britanico seems defunct, for example. Could anybody point me in the direction of a good one? I know you can get a job without one, and I wouldn't want to pay $1K+ to get a job that pays half that much per month, but I've never taught English as a second language.