Site Search:

Get TEFL Certified & Start Your Adventure Today!
Teach English Abroad and Get Paid to see the World!
Job Discussion Forums Forum Index Job Discussion Forums
"The Internet's Meeting Place for ESL/EFL Students and Teachers from Around the World!"

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Teaching w/ BA of English, no TEFL

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Job Discussion Forums Forum Index -> Costa Rica
View previous topic :: View next topic  
ldragon

PostPosted: Thu Mar 17, 2011 8:05 pm    Post subject: Teaching w/ BA of English, no TEFL Reply with quote

Hello. I am considering teaching English in Costa Rica. I have a Bachelor of Arts in English from a US university, but no TEFL or related certification. I have 2 years experience in education and early childhood care. I have 5 years experience in social work. What are the chances I would be able to find decent work in Costa Rica? Also, what kind of pay should I expect as a base? Are there a lot of opportunities for private lessons?
jprimm

PostPosted: Fri Mar 18, 2011 1:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

In my opinion, you really won't find a great job and expect no more than 8 dollars an hour....and have savings as it is not that cheap....just the truth...
tuanis mae

PostPosted: Mon Mar 21, 2011 4:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

the days of just showing up to a country, and just because you speak english, landing a job easily are long gone. There are very few schools that hire without a TESOL or TEFL, and the ones that do are probably not very good schools. I recommend that if youre going to come all the way down here to teach english, do it right and take a TESOL course first.
ldragon

PostPosted: Thu Mar 24, 2011 3:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote