| View previous topic :: View next topic |
| Author |
Message |
MRamosDC
Joined: 17 Apr 2011 Posts: 6
|
Posted: Wed May 18, 2011 1:31 am Post subject: "Mediatori Linguistici" in Ancona -- Possible scam |
|
|
Hey everyone -- I could sure use some assistance! I received "confirmation" from a university in Ancona, Italy called Mediatori Linguistici that I would be an English teacher there beginning in July. Now, however, I'm not quite sure that the deal is even legit. Over the last few weeks, I've sent them my C.V., references, cover letter, and long-form questionnaire with my responses. I've been waiting for a written contract to be sent to me, but I haven't heard anything back yet. Does anyone know if this is, in fact, a legit school at all??
On a different note, I am definitely looking for an English teaching position in Italy, but if anyone can recommend any teaching opportunities in a school/company in Milan, please let me know!
-Mike in DC |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
BadBeagleBad

Joined: 23 Aug 2010 Posts: 606 Location: Juan Aldama, Zacatecas, Mexico
|
Posted: Wed May 18, 2011 1:51 am Post subject: Re: "Mediatori Linguistici" in Ancona -- Possible |
|
|
| MRamosDC wrote: |
-Mike in DC |
If you are in DC because you are American and donīt have an EU passport the offer is almost certainly false, it is very difficult for Americans to work in Europe. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Teacher in Rome
Joined: 09 Jul 2003 Posts: 1129
|
Posted: Wed May 18, 2011 12:06 pm Post subject: |
|
|
They're a school for interpreters and translators, so I think they're most definitely legit.
But universities don't generally start their teaching til Sept / Oct in Italy. What classes were you offered in July?
It could be that they just haven't got round to sending you a contract yet (wouldn't surprise me for Italy) or that they've run into problems with visas etc. Have you spoken to them? That might be the best option to see if / why there's a delay. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
spiral78

Joined: 05 Apr 2004 Posts: 8431 Location: On a Short Leash
|
Posted: Wed May 18, 2011 12:26 pm Post subject: |
|
|
| It could also be a scammer using the name of a legit school. That's happened in the past... |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
MRamosDC
Joined: 17 Apr 2011 Posts: 6
|
Posted: Wed May 18, 2011 3:56 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Thanks everyone for the advice. I was offered "teaching English to adult learners in Ancona," and that's all that was really mentioned. Supposedly, they're sending me a contract at some point this week, but by the judging of the various e-mail addresses I've been getting (i.e. @mediatori.com, @gmail.com, @ibero.it, etc...), I'm not sure if anything at all's coming my way. True, I've heard that the red tape in Italy is a nightmare overall, but I'm still hanging on by a shred of hope that it's actually legitimate. :\
-Mike in DC |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
BadBeagleBad

Joined: 23 Aug 2010 Posts: 606 Location: Juan Aldama, Zacatecas, Mexico
|
Posted: Wed May 18, 2011 4:38 pm Post subject: |
|
|
| MRamosDC wrote: |
but I'm still hanging on by a shred of hope that it's actually legitimate. :\
Mike in DC |
Why not look up the school on the internet and give them a call? As someone pointed out, it wouldnīt be the first time a legit school was used as part of a scam. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
MilanTeacher
Joined: 08 Mar 2011 Posts: 28
|
Posted: Wed May 18, 2011 6:16 pm Post subject: |
|
|
This has serious red flags everywhere. To start:
1. Are you an EU citizen? If not, you can't work in Italy without a visa. And they are only given to extremely highly qualified professionals. English language teachers can't get them. Any place that hires teachers without work permission is very shady, and it likely won't end well.
2. Classes in Italy do not start in July. The whole country shuts down for all of August and things start up in September and October. The only work in July is usually old classes that are finishing, and summer programs for kids.
3. Different email addresses? Check the IP addresses they were sent from (if you don't know how, google it) and see where they are coming from. Give the school itself (the number listed on their official website) a call and see what's up. It can't hurt!
Although, I'm not sure why they have to benefit from offering you a job. I wouldn't be surprised if they ask you to Western Union a "deposit" on accommodation or something before too long. If you happen to be an EU citizen, it might be legit, but I would definitely investigate thoroughly. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Insubordination

Joined: 07 Nov 2007 Posts: 383 Location: Sydney
|
Posted: Thu May 19, 2011 4:15 am Post subject: |
|
|
| As soon as they mention that you need to transfer cash into their account for visa costs, a bond, or airfare, you'll know it's a scam. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
theweather
Joined: 01 Jul 2008 Posts: 7
|
Posted: Wed May 25, 2011 1:12 am Post subject: |
|
|
I was being led along the same path. i think the emails are coming from the US and the number is from Bari.
Thanks for posting your concerns. It's been a while since something like this has been tried on me. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
theweather
Joined: 01 Jul 2008 Posts: 7
|
Posted: Wed May 25, 2011 1:20 am Post subject: |
|
|
one more thing
if u look at the email address the supposed 'i' is in fact an 'L (l)' |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
johnm2006
Joined: 06 Mar 2009 Posts: 3 Location: Beijing, China
|
Posted: Wed Jun 22, 2011 10:25 pm Post subject: Scam |
|
|
The offer is a scam. I received a contract on their letterhead signed by a Mr. Alberto Cavallo who claimed to be the "Recruitment Manager." I sent back a signed contract and was instructed to send my passport to a certain place. Instead I said I would go to the Italian consulate office near where I live. What I found out is that you need an authorization letter from the Italian immigration authorities to get a work permit to work in Italy if you are not an EU citizen. The school must get this authorization for you which says basically that you have skills not readily available in the country. I then contacted the school directly and was told the contract was a fraud.
In sum you need a work permit to work in an EU country if you are not a citizen of an EU country. Such permits are hard to come by but not impossible. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
|