Site Search:

Get TEFL Certified & Start Your Adventure Today!
Teach English Abroad and Get Paid to see the World!
Job Discussion Forums Forum Index Job Discussion Forums
"The Internet's Meeting Place for ESL/EFL Students and Teachers from Around the World!"

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Qualified Teacher-suggestions for a job search

View previous topic :: View next topic  
sohniye

PostPosted: Sun Aug 28, 2011 5:47 pm    Post subject: Qualified Teacher-suggestions for a job search Reply with quote

Hello everybody,

I am a certified upper-primary/secondary teacher from the United States, my specialization is in Special Education at the MA level though I also have the right to teach in a standard classroom.

I do not have an EU passport nor the right to work in EU currently. I hate to repeat a common question: but what are my prospects?

I do have a friend with similar qualifications working for a kindergarten in Germany so it seems possible. Both of us were educated in the British system though I of course speak with an American accent which I hear

Also, I am half German and half Native American do I approach this topic at all?

Thank you Smile
spiral78

PostPosted: Sun Aug 28, 2011 7:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If I understand clearly, you have currently no qualifications for teaching language - correct? If this is the case, you will need to consider at least a CELTA, I think, to be at all competitive on this job market.

Do you speak German? That would help. I do not think your ancestry should be a factor.

The next step would be to find out what is the current process for obtaining a visa for a non-EU citizen. In the past, that has been do-able in some cases, though it's very difficult. I would assume that your friend could give you direct information on the process.