Site Search:

Get TEFL Certified & Start Your Adventure Today!
Teach English Abroad and Get Paid to see the World!
Job Discussion Forums Forum Index Job Discussion Forums
"The Internet's Meeting Place for ESL/EFL Students and Teachers from Around the World!"

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Minimum qualification and experience needed for Middle East

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Job Discussion Forums Forum Index -> General Middle East Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
DarylM

PostPosted: Fri Jan 27, 2012 5:59 am    Post subject: Minimum qualification and experience needed for Middle East Reply with quote

Can anyone give me a general guideline on quals and exp needed for each country in the Middle East and the institutions that employ English teachers?

I have a non-English related degree, a PGCE, a TESOL certificate.
I have 1 year English state school teaching experience and 6 years TESOL teaching, mainly school based, some business.

Where should I be aiming for a job that will build on my skills, pay a decent wage and open opportunities for better things?

Which country and what kind of institution?

Last edited by DarylM on Sat Jan 28, 2012 1:17 am; edited 1 time in total
helenl

PostPosted: Fri Jan 27, 2012 10:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

With your PGCE you may be looked at by International Schools following the British curriculum. Your other quals won't usually even get your CV looked at by the better employers.
DarylM

PostPosted: Wed Apr 18, 2012 10:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Bumping the post back up after getting positive feedback from a recruiter in Saudi Arabia.