Site Search:

Get TEFL Certified & Start Your Adventure Today!
Teach English Abroad and Get Paid to see the World!
Job Discussion Forums Forum Index Job Discussion Forums
"The Internet's Meeting Place for ESL/EFL Students and Teachers from Around the World!"

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

do employers worry about grades on transcript?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Job Discussion Forums Forum Index -> General Latin America Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
techselector

PostPosted: Sat Mar 10, 2012 6:14 am    Post subject: do employers worry about grades on transcript? Reply with quote

hello everyone, quick question:

do employers in Latin America generally worry about your grades on your college transcript? i'm an excellent student now, but i left my previous institution with some less than stellar grades. I have a few F's on there. nowadays i'm cranking out a 4.0 semester GPA nearly every time. just hoping my past doesn't hold me down with regards to my career in ESL abroad.

my general impression is that it's not important. if i've got a degree that may meet or succeed most employer's requirements. thoughts? by all means correct me if i'm wrong.

i'm particularly interested in Mexico, if that helps. although I adore Latin America in general and might consider other locations as well
Isla Guapa

PostPosted: Sat Mar 10, 2012 4:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Keeping in mind that in Latin America, grades are numerical, with 10 being the best and 1, the worst, a prospective employer probably wouldn't know what an F meant. You could tell him it means "Fabuloso" Wink ! Congratulations, by the way, on turning your GPA around.
Guy Courchesne

PostPosted: Sat Mar 10, 2012 5:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote