Site Search:

Get TEFL Certified & Start Your Adventure Today!
Teach English Abroad and Get Paid to see the World!
Job Discussion Forums Forum Index Job Discussion Forums
"The Internet's Meeting Place for ESL/EFL Students and Teachers from Around the World!"

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Alternative Certification

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Job Discussion Forums Forum Index -> General North America Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
marliesue

PostPosted: Tue Apr 03, 2012 2:04 pm    Post subject: Alternative Certification Reply with quote

Hello everyone,

I have been working as a teacher for 3 years now and am about to complete my Masters in International Education. I still however do not have my teaching certification from the U.S.

Does anyone know which state has alternative certification processes so I could work towards that without repeating an Undergrad degree?

Thanks!

Marlie
gator07

PostPosted: Tue Apr 03, 2012 3:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I thought all states offered alternative certification... but maybe not? I know that both Florida & Georgia offer that route, but I'm not 100% sure on the details for that. I believe it can vary from county to county so you'd need to check that county's board of education website.
USAMATHMAN

PostPosted: Tue Apr 03, 2012 6:47 pm    Post subject: Alternative Certification Reply with quote

I am positive that both Tennessee & Kentucky offer alternative certification. You would have to teach at least 3 successful years to qualify for full licensure in TN. I would definitely suggest that you go ahead and complete the certification. It will open a lot of doors for you if you decide to teach at international schools.

Also agree with above poster. Would be best to check the county that you are looking to teach with.