Site Search:

Get TEFL Certified & Start Your Adventure Today!
Teach English Abroad and Get Paid to see the World!
Job Discussion Forums Forum Index Job Discussion Forums
"The Internet's Meeting Place for ESL/EFL Students and Teachers from Around the World!"

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

an old elephant�s market value

View previous topic :: View next topic  
kludde

PostPosted: Fri Apr 23, 2004 11:24 am    Post subject: an old elephant�s market value Reply with quote

Thanks to everybody for keeping this forum informative and enjoyable. Internet at its best!

I have thirty years experience from the foreign service of a Nordic country, including a number of postings abroad. I am a Bachelor of Law and have university degrees in Spanish and French. Needless to say, I am a non-native speaker of English, but I think I can say I have a good level not least when it comes to the business lingo and the like.

For personal reasons that I will not try your patience describing, I have decided to be a "drop out" and shift focus in life. Teaching English in Vietnam seems to be one attractive option for starters.

I don�t want to sound presumptuous, but when I read the curricula of various four weeks TEFL courses I feel they are somehow too basic for my background. I have quite some experience in teaching/lecturing - I was Head of Training in the service for a couple of years.

I would be most grateful to receive any comments on how my background would be rated in the Vietnamese TEFL world. Can I realistically enter "the fast line" and do without the certificate? Where would be the best turf for me? Is there a market for private lessons in Vietnam? Can I get NY Herald Tribune in Hanoi?