Site Search:

Get TEFL Certified & Start Your Adventure Today!
Teach English Abroad and Get Paid to see the World!
Job Discussion Forums Forum Index Job Discussion Forums
"The Internet's Meeting Place for ESL/EFL Students and Teachers from Around the World!"

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

getting a master's in TESOL at age 55

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Job Discussion Forums Forum Index -> General North America Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
lrobbins

PostPosted: Thu Jul 05, 2012 1:42 am    Post subject: getting a master's in TESOL at age 55 Reply with quote

Hello,
I am currently an editor at a publishing company but have volunteered in a city ESL program, which I loved, and got a TEFL certificate last year. I am considering switching careers to teaching adults at a community college or other higher ed institution, and I know that a master's is needed (I do have a PhD, but in an unrelated field). I have been thinking of doing an online MA TESOL from the New School in NYC while continuing to work. I know the job situation is not all that great, with many people being hired as adjuncts or lecturers without benefits, and I would be in my mid-50s when beginning to look for jobs. Does this plan make any sense? Or would it be better to stick with volunteering? Also if anyone knows anything about the New School's program, that would be useful too.
Thank you!
Xie Lin

PostPosted: Thu Jul 05, 2012 2:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote