Site Search:

TEFL International Supports Dave's ESL Cafe
TEFL Courses, TESOL Course, English Teaching Jobs - TEFL International
Job Discussion Forums Forum Index Job Discussion Forums
"The Internet's Meeting Place for ESL/EFL Students and Teachers from Around the World!"

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Co-teachers

View previous topic :: View next topic  
ncaraway

PostPosted: Sat Aug 25, 2012 3:49 am    Post subject: Co-teachers Reply with quote

I finally landed my first teaching job at a buxiban teaching 3-12 year olds. To prepare myself, I've been getting acquainted with the textbooks.

I will be working with a Taiwanese co-teacher who I presume is bilingual. (I've been studying Mandarin for about 2 months so my skills are very limited.) I will meet the co-teacher on Monday. I don't know what the division of labor is between the two of us. I'm assuming we'll be equals, though that doesn't seem quite fair as I'm a newbie and will probably have to rely on this person heavily in the beginning.

That said, any tips or insights into working with native-language co-teachers is appreciated.

Many thanks.
52skidoo

PostPosted: Sun Aug 26, 2012 6:27 am    Post subject: Co teacher Reply with quote

Hi, good luck with your new job.
I have been here for over ten years and had co teachers from time to time.
Each experience was different but there are some basic things you need to know.
1. Their most important role is to watch your teaching methods and everything else then report back to your boss how you doing.
2. They can help with discipline problems.
3. They are great for helping how to explain a game or other activities to the kids for the first time, in Chinese.