Site Search:

Get TEFL Certified & Start Your Adventure Today!
Teach English Abroad and Get Paid to see the World!
Job Discussion Forums Forum Index Job Discussion Forums
"The Internet's Meeting Place for ESL/EFL Students and Teachers from Around the World!"

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

experienced U.S. teacher wants to teach abroad

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Job Discussion Forums Forum Index -> Thailand
View previous topic :: View next topic  
joeysu

PostPosted: Thu Dec 27, 2012 7:59 am    Post subject: experienced U.S. teacher wants to teach abroad Reply with quote

i have my BA in Psychology, Masters in Educational technology and multiple subject teaching credentials. i have been teaching elementary school for 14 years in the US. i would love to teach in thailand and travel during my vacation time. i am set to take a leave from my current job for two years. realistically, what teaching position could i get in thailand with my current credentials and would i be able to get a better job with a TEFL cert? should i try to find a job through a placement agency before i buy my plane ticket or should i sign up for a tefl course in thailand and find a job when i complete my certificate since i will be in the country already. i have been advised to do the second option by a teacher in thailand saying that there are better jobs when you are there in person versus the teacher placement agencies will place you in schools that are not desirable. i'm just afraid to jump on a plane without anything set up beforehand. If there is anyone who can shed some light on what route i should take, i would really appreciate your advice. thank you!
plumpy nut

PostPosted: Thu Dec 27, 2012 3:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote