Site Search:

Speak Korean Now!
Teach English Abroad and Get Paid to see the World!
Korean Job Discussion Forums Forum Index Korean Job Discussion Forums
"The Internet's Meeting Place for ESL/EFL Teachers from Around the World!"

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Can someone explain the Korean tax exemption?
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korean Job Discussion Forums Forum Index -> Job-related Discussion Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
naturegirl321

PostPosted: Fri Apr 09, 2010 4:51 pm    Post subject: Can someone explain the Korean tax exemption? Reply with quote

I don't get it. So, I have to get a paper saying that for "Federal tax purposes" I'm a US resident and will be a US resident for the rest of 2010, right?

(But I'm not since I live in Korea and spent the last 8 years in Scotland, Czech Rep, Spain, China, and Peru)

And then I give that to Korea and that means taht I don't pay KOREAN taxes, correct?

So then, I have to pay US taxes?

OR

I get out of BOTH Korean and US taxes for two years?

If someone could explain this, simply, I'd appreciate it, becuase it's doing my head in. Shocked

Thanks!
jameltoe

PostPosted: Fri Apr 09, 2010 4:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

according to my recruiter unless you are making over 90k usd you do not need to pay american or korean taxes after submitting your 8802 form
naturegirl321

PostPosted: Fri Apr 09, 2010 5:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jameltoe wrote:
according to my recruiter unless you are making over 90k usd you do not need to pay american or korean taxes after submitting your 8802 form

Ok, thanks. I get that.

BUT, how is that legal?