ESL and illiteracy

<b>Forum for teachers working with refugees </b>

Moderators: Dimitris, maneki neko2, Lorikeet, Enrico Palazzo, superpeach, cecil2, Mr. Kalgukshi2

mehajaby

ESL and illiteracy

Post by mehajaby » Wed Mar 19, 2003 10:54 pm

Hi. I am an esl teacher who has previously worked with business people. I am now faced with teachign immigrants, many with no writing reading skills in thier native language, and many with no understanding of english at all. ANy advice, gudiance, book recommendations would be appreciated.

Fran Bennett

ESL and illiteracy

Post by Fran Bennett » Mon May 12, 2003 12:17 pm

I have been volunteering in a church-based program for nearly two years. Many of our students are barely literate in their native languages. Their attendance is sporadic since they are often working two jobs with variable schedules.

The books we use have very little relevance to the students' lives, although I can see that the goal is to give the students some cultural information about the US. I tend to take one sentence from the book and work through it, practicing different conjugations of the verb and encouraging the students to speak and use the words. I also end up using the encyclopedia a lot, to find pictures of things in the stories.

The English that the students hear every day at work is certainly non-standard. I wonder if I should be correcting their use of "have" and "has" or "he" and "she." And for the students who can barely write their names, should we give them handwriting practice in printing or cursive writing? I try to watch how they form the letters they already have learned to write, but it's often quite a mix of styles.

I'd love to hear from others with more experience in teaching ESL. Thanks.

RVD

ESL and illiteracy

Post by RVD » Mon May 12, 2003 8:01 pm