Teaching Students that are not literate

<b> Forum for ESL/EFL teachers working with secondary school students </b>

Moderators: Dimitris, maneki neko2, Lorikeet, Enrico Palazzo, superpeach, cecil2, Mr. Kalgukshi2

CLO

Teaching Students that are not literate

Post by CLO » Wed Aug 30, 2006 1:10 am

This is my first year teaching ESL , I teach in the USA to Spanish speaking students. All of my students are intermediate to advanced. Today a new student arrived at our school he does not speak any English and is illiterate. I have worked with monolingual students before, but since he is illiterate in his first language, I have no idea where to start with him. The student is 16 and in 9th grade.
Thank you for any advice or experience you can share with me! I feel inadequate as an ESL teacher in this situation!

Senorita Daniels

Post by Senorita Daniels » Sun Sep 10, 2006 7:06 pm

I've worked with kindergarteners and first graders who aren't literate, and the biggest thing with them is learning the alphabet and the letter sounds. It helps to take things one letter at a time, so you don't inundate them with information, especially since they aren't used to the school environment like the others. I have a fifth grader with okay reading skills and a seventh grader with questionable skills (I tried to see how he reads in his L1, but after one word, he refused to read any more). With these two, the biggest difference in their reading after one semester with the younger and one year with the older, is attitude. If the student is willing to learn, he or she will be easy to work with and start picking it up. Pray that this student is a hard worker in class.

Sally Olsen
Location: Canada,France, Brazil, Japan, Mongolia, Greenland, Canada, Mongolia, Ethiopia next

Post by Sally Olsen » Thu Sep 14, 2006 8:18 pm