How to deal with the errors students make in their study?

<b> Forum for ESL/EFL teachers working with secondary school students </b>

Moderators: Dimitris, maneki neko2, Lorikeet, Enrico Palazzo, superpeach, cecil2, Mr. Kalgukshi2

xiaoliankang

How to deal with the errors students make in their study?

Post by xiaoliankang » Fri Dec 12, 2008 7:49 am

I am a high school teacher.In my teaching,I find an interesting thing and it have puzzled me for a long time.Generally speaking,there are some teaching important points and difficult points in every lesson.As a teacher,I will emphasis again and again and I also give them a lot of exercises to make sure they can master them.It seems that they indeed understand in the class but next time they make the same mistakes again. Sometimes although the same items have been tested many times,they can't make right choice.I often ask myself it is my fault or it is that my students don't study hard.Can you give me some help?

rebra

Post by rebra » Fri Feb 18, 2011 7:22 pm

Well, I am only a student-teacher, so I might not help you all that much, however, I have seen this phenomenon in both my practicum. My students just don’t seem to process information. Indeed, we go over a notion several times, and yet, they always make the same mistakes. In fact, during my last practicum this past fall, this was really an issue for both me and my teacher. My theory is that students lack of confidence and interest in learning a second language, and this is not the teacher’s fault. Also, I’ve read that to learn something new, we must hear it 20 times, if you think about it, 20 times is a lot. I also believe that students want to relate to French when speaking and writing, and that is why so many mistakes are found.

Sally Olsen
Location: Canada,France, Brazil, Japan, Mongolia, Greenland, Canada, Mongolia, Ethiopia next

Post by Sally Olsen » Mon Feb 21, 2011 3:34 pm