MA- should a good MA have no linguisitcs/lang analysis?

<b>Forum for the discussion of Applied Linguistics </b>

Moderators: Dimitris, maneki neko2, Lorikeet, Enrico Palazzo, superpeach, cecil2, Mr. Kalgukshi2

Rolly

MA- should a good MA have no linguisitcs/lang analysis?

Post by Rolly » Fri Apr 29, 2005 7:52 am

Recently, I have looked into studying an MA in TESOL. I was a little suprised to see one univeristy offered the MA with no linguistic or language analysis module at all. I was quite looking forward to brushing up my grammar as I am relatively new to teaching. I just wondered why? Is it too traditional in TESOL/EFL to be studying how the language works and pay more attention to methodology and psychology.
I am the only native speaker at my college and the Chinese teachers often ask me quite tricky grammatical questions which I find difficult to explain. I think I need to study more grammar but it is useful for my future in the profession? :?

Sally Olsen
Location: Canada,France, Brazil, Japan, Mongolia, Greenland, Canada, Mongolia, Ethiopia next

Post by Sally Olsen » Fri Apr 29, 2005 7:45 pm

Just go through this thread and see the range of answers given here and you will learn a lot. I would also recommend "The English Verb" and anything on Systemic Functional Linguistics, particularly anything written by Beverly Derewianka.
I guess that it depends on the places you want to teach in the future and what you are looking forward to teaching. I would ask at your institution what kind of things they are looking for in a Master's degree. I hear that the Australian courses are well respected.

woodcutter

Post by woodcutter » Sat Apr 30, 2005 7:52 am

Since I'm applying for the Australian on-line course I'm delighted someone thinks it is well respected.