Should business experience/training be a requirement?

<b> Forum for those teaching business English </b>

Moderators: Dimitris, maneki neko2, Lorikeet, Enrico Palazzo, superpeach, cecil2, Mr. Kalgukshi2

dwinet

Should business experience/training be a requirement?

Post by dwinet » Thu Sep 11, 2003 5:32 am

Our administration is trying to tell us an M.A. in TESL is not enough to teach Business English -- we need experience in business or training too.

Has anyone ever heard of another school doing this in the U.S. ?

Thanks for any info.
Dave

James Trotta

Post by James Trotta » Sun Oct 05, 2003 4:23 am

I've heard of this sort of thing. The reasoning is that a language teacher has to help students use English, and if you don't know how English is used to conduct business...

I worked as a secretary in a car dealer for about 6 months, but that doesn't make it onto my resume and I've been asked to teach business English.

Despite my lack of business specific experience, I'm extremely good at it. You just have to be willing to do some research and preparation.

Dodger

Business English

Post by Dodger » Sat Oct 29, 2005 6:38 pm

It's only logical,

if you have neither knowledge of business nor Business English, then as a teacher, please stay out of the classrooom.

People such as yourself are one of the main reasons why people such as myself make so much money teaching Business English in the first place!

keith

Post by keith » Wed Nov 02, 2005 1:10 pm

It is possible to be a very effective business English teacher without a business background. I think it depends on how you view the role of the business English teacher. I don't think we are there to teach them how to do business - if you are teaching a one-to-one class with a company CEO with 30 years of business experience, it's not very likely that you'll be able to teach him or her much about conducting business! What you're there to do is to help them conduct their business in English.