Site Search:

Banner

Teacher Discussion Forums Forum Index Teacher Discussion Forums
"The Internet's Meeting Place for ESL/EFL Students and Teachers from Around the World!"

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Need New Student Information

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Teacher Discussion Forums Forum Index -> Elementary Education
View previous topic :: View next topic  
newguy

PostPosted: Fri Feb 06, 2004 2:31 am    Post subject: Need New Student Information Reply with quote

Help!!! I'm just starting out my elementary school teaching career and I have a new student who has recently immigrated from Viet Nam. I need to find out about any valuable information that may be helpful with making him comfortable in his new environment. I don't really know a whole lot about the culture in Viet Nam and what traditions they hold. What would be most important information to obtain in relation to the new student's culture and what's the easiest (and fastest) way to get it?

thanks,
the new guy
sita

PostPosted: Sat Feb 07, 2004 1:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi newguy!

I suggest you have a look here:

http://www.lonelyplanet.com/destinations/south_east_asia/vietnam/

Best wishes
Siān
newguy

PostPosted: Sat Feb 07, 2004 4:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks for the info sita. i was able to find a little bit of similar information on vietnam and it looks like any bit of information i can find will be useful. would it be helpful, or more confusing for the student if i were to try to learn some of the language and use it periodically? that's assuming i could learn even one word! :0

--newguy--
Lorikeet

PostPosted: Sat Feb 07, 2004 5:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote