Need New Student Information

<b> Forum for elementary education ESL/EFL teachers </b>

Moderators: Dimitris, maneki neko2, Lorikeet, Enrico Palazzo, superpeach, cecil2, Mr. Kalgukshi2

newguy

Need New Student Information

Post by newguy » Fri Feb 06, 2004 2:31 am

Help!!! I'm just starting out my elementary school teaching career and I have a new student who has recently immigrated from Viet Nam. I need to find out about any valuable information that may be helpful with making him comfortable in his new environment. I don't really know a whole lot about the culture in Viet Nam and what traditions they hold. What would be most important information to obtain in relation to the new student's culture and what's the easiest (and fastest) way to get it?

thanks,
the new guy

sita

Post by sita » Sat Feb 07, 2004 1:16 pm

Hi newguy!

I suggest you have a look here:

http://www.lonelyplanet.com/destination ... a/vietnam/

Best wishes
Siân

newguy

Post by newguy » Sat Feb 07, 2004 4:11 pm

thanks for the info sita. i was able to find a little bit of similar information on vietnam and it looks like any bit of information i can find will be useful. would it be helpful, or more confusing for the student if i were to try to learn some of the language and use it periodically? that's assuming i could learn even one word! :0

--newguy--

Lorikeet

Post by Lorikeet » Sat Feb 07, 2004 5:48 pm