How often do you give assessments?

<b> Forum for the discussion of assessment and testing of ESL/EFL students </b>

Moderators: Dimitris, maneki neko2, Lorikeet, Enrico Palazzo, superpeach, cecil2, Mr. Kalgukshi2

MelissaQ

How often do you give assessments?

Post by MelissaQ » Tue May 29, 2012 4:44 am

I am in the process of not only getting certified to become an ESL teacher, but I am going to get my standard teaching certificate as well. My background is not in the field of education, so please excuse my lack of knowledge if the answer to this question is obvious. I was just wondering how often students are assessed. I understand that all lessons do not have to include a formal test or even a quiz. When they do not, how does one know if students learned the lesson? Without a formal assessment, how does one measure the success of their students? Also, how would one know to make appropriate adjustments in the lesson plans that follow if an assessment was not done?

birdy

Post by birdy » Mon Jun 11, 2012 2:59 am