Absolute beginners..

<b> Forum for ESL/EFL teachers working with secondary school students </b>

Moderators: Dimitris, maneki neko2, Lorikeet, Enrico Palazzo, superpeach, cecil2, Mr. Kalgukshi2

amytrabs

Absolute beginners..

Post by amytrabs » Sat Sep 15, 2012 2:50 am

Hi, I'm a second year ESL teacher in a public high school. I have ESL 1...newcomers. Last year, I had some students who knew a tiny bit...but this year all my ESL ones seem to know NOTHING...and I dont speak their native language..only a few key phrases. Last year I had a few students who would help the lower ones, but this year they are all low. Any suggestions to help them other than tpr and realia? I feel like they look at me and are super confused and I feel bad that I can't explain in their language. Do you believe success is still possible without the ESL teacher being able to speak their l1

Sally Olsen
Location: Canada,France, Brazil, Japan, Mongolia, Greenland, Canada, Mongolia, Ethiopia next

Post by Sally Olsen » Sat Sep 15, 2012 3:16 pm