How to incorporate mass media into a lesson

<b>Forum for teachers teaching adult education </b>

Moderators: Dimitris, maneki neko2, Lorikeet, Enrico Palazzo, superpeach, cecil2, Mr. Kalgukshi2

Istari

How to incorporate mass media into a lesson

Post by Istari » Thu Jan 10, 2013 4:16 am

Hello all,

At the small ESL school I teach at (in Canada), many of my lessons are one-on-one. These are often free-form, general conversation. I enjoy this, because I feel I can help my students more precisely, and focus on topics they especially want to learn about. One of my new (adult) students says she wants to focus on English via mass media, like newspapers, Youtube, and TED Talks. I like this idea, but as I am still relatively new to teaching, I'm finding it a bit daunting as to how to efficiently integrate these things into an actual lesson. I'm wondering if anyone has suggestions on what sorts of media work in a classroom setting/how to integrate it? i.e. I've read some blogs about TED in the classroom, but since they're often rather long clips, I'm wondering if that's the sort of thing best left for home? Thanks!

Sally Olsen
Location: Canada,France, Brazil, Japan, Mongolia, Greenland, Canada, Mongolia, Ethiopia next

Post by Sally Olsen » Thu Jan 10, 2013 11:41 am

If you can find a site that includes a chance to print out what is spoken, like the news, then you can have input from two sources.

Otherwise you could choose short clips at the beginning or stop them and review unknown vocabulary, grammar and ideas as you go along.

As for topics, your student's interest should guide you.

The biggest problem is explaining grammar you don't know. If you don't know the answer right away, you can say that you will get her/him an explanation for the next lesson and then ask for help here at Dave's or go to grammar sites for an explanation and ask her/him to try to find other examples before your next lesson.

Istari

Post by Istari » Sun Jan 13, 2013 8:31 pm