Some classroom grammar advice please!

<b>Forum for teachers teaching adult education </b>

Moderators: Dimitris, maneki neko2, Lorikeet, Enrico Palazzo, superpeach, cecil2, Mr. Kalgukshi2

lozelizabeth22

Some classroom grammar advice please!

Post by lozelizabeth22 » Tue Sep 17, 2013 11:26 pm

Hi all
so i'll give you a little background information first and would really like some advice from other teachers.
I've been an EFL teacher for over a year now.
i teach a variety of ages from 5 to 50.
I have a problem with one thing in particular. I'll try to explain this the best way i can. I'm pretty self-critical but often i leave my classroom feeling a little deflated due to this one thing.

i mainly teach intensive courses grades 2 and 3 in portugal ( so beginner and pre -int)
about me and the way i teach:
i believe in a happy , chatty classroom- if my students aren't happy i'm not happy. I encourage discussions in a light hearted way and participate in these discussions but with prompts/ideas as opposed to teacher talking time.
I am using a book designed for intensives and i normally follow this book and pad it out when necessary.
My lessons are based around both receptive and productive skills:
always use warmers, always follow pair and class feedback protocols , always encourage students to use target language and interact and only correct errors when emphasis is on accuracy. i'm a very personable person and although i participate in my some discussions (as said by prompting) i prefer to be quiet and let my students do the talking and be there to monitor and assist.

my main problem is...
after introducing the context of the lesson, following a reading/speaking/ exercise .. is going through the grammar... the students are lively , chatty, intrigued, interested until the grammar points.