Teaching Shy ESL Students

<b> Forum for the discussion of everything ESP </b>

Moderators: Dimitris, maneki neko2, Lorikeet, Enrico Palazzo, superpeach, cecil2, Mr. Kalgukshi2

rm3476

Teaching Shy ESL Students

Post by rm3476 » Fri Apr 10, 2015 1:54 am

I am currently a teacher in Philadelphia. I have 1 ELL student that speaks little English. I partnered her up with a buddy that speaks her native language. I am having trouble getting her to practice her speaking skills. What are some strategies that I could use to help her practice if she is hesitant?

Sally Olsen
Location: Canada,France, Brazil, Japan, Mongolia, Greenland, Canada, Mongolia, Ethiopia next

Post by Sally Olsen » Fri Apr 10, 2015 10:25 am

Go easy on her. Shy people often clam up when pressured. Does she speak a lot in her own language? No? Then she won't speak much in English.
If she has to explain things to her partner she might speak a bit more so questionnaires and asking her to explain games or procedures such as how to do something works usually.
Are you sensitive to the politics of where she comes from and whether the partner is really someone she can talk to or just speaks her language? It may be dangerous for her to speak.

rm3476

Shy ELL student

Post by rm3476 » Fri Apr 10, 2015 12:43 pm

She does speak with others in the classroom in her native language. The first time she was in my class her now buddy asked me if they could pair up and sit next to each other so she could help her. I am very sensitive and she really feels comfortable in my classroom except for speaking.

Sally Olsen
Location: Canada,France, Brazil, Japan, Mongolia, Greenland, Canada, Mongolia, Ethiopia next

Post by Sally Olsen » Fri Apr 10, 2015 10:32 pm

Sounds ideal then.