Teachers authority/intimidation

<b> Forum for ESL/EFL teachers working with secondary school students </b>

Moderators: Dimitris, maneki neko2, Lorikeet, Enrico Palazzo, superpeach, cecil2, Mr. Kalgukshi2

skeazel

Teachers authority/intimidation

Post by skeazel » Tue Aug 23, 2005 12:16 pm

Hi, I am a student in Australia. I am in year 10 at school and I have a Science teacher, Mr Bray, who makes me feel intimidated. He says things like, "You are in year ten and I am a teacher so you have no say" and "I have the right to yell at you". Once, when he was rude, I approached him after class and I told him in a calm and polite manner that I felt he was rude. He said that he was offended, not just as a teacher but as a person that I would make such an accusation. I tried to explain saying that sometimes he could be a bit abrasive and tended to cut people off, and it made me uncomfortable. I found myself suspended the next day. When I asked him why I was suspended he said, "Because you called me rude, said that I cut people off and can be abrasive, and that is inappropriate."
Today in Science he was aggravated because he thought we were taking too long doing our prac, so he raised his voice and I said, in a calm way, can you please not raise your voice. Then he yelled, with his finger in my face, "I am the teacher, and you cannot and will not tell me to raise my voice or not. You are the student and that is not your place." and that made me feel scared and hurt, and I cried.
He is a nice guy most of the time, and he is funny and tells jokes to all my friends like him, but I think he must have something against me. A personality clash. He seems to think that because I am in year ten I have no right to an opinion. And if I do say my opinion, I am being rude, even if I say it in an appropriate way, or the BEST way I know how.