Teaching ideas for lawyers about due diligence?

<b> Forum for those teaching business English </b>

Moderators: Dimitris, maneki neko2, Lorikeet, Enrico Palazzo, superpeach, cecil2, Mr. Kalgukshi2

Showem

Teaching ideas for lawyers about due diligence?

Post by Showem » Mon Apr 03, 2006 11:50 am

I need some creative ideas of how to teach something around the concept of due diligence reports for real estate/real property.

It's a class of lawyers who orginally wanted general business English, but now are asking for this (due diligence), which is a bit over my head, as I'm not a lawyer.

I don't even really know what they want with it, and when questioning them, they didn't seem to really know either. "Just some practice with it".:roll:

They have given me a copy of one of their due diligence templates, but I don't have any ideas of what to do with it, other than perhaps divide the pages amongst pairs and get them to analyse it and then present their findings to the group. But I'd like something perhaps a bit more fruitful and am desperate for ideas. Please help!

sbourque

Post by sbourque » Mon Apr 03, 2006 5:06 pm

Do they want practice in using the terminology? You can go to Google and type in "due diligence reports"+"real estate" and search through some of the sites to find useful collocations such as
- due diligence investigation/ review/ process
- conducting due diligence
- the due-diligence area
etc.

If they have a template, you could have them do a dialog:
Have you checked...?
What about ...?
Did you find out whether...?
What are the areas of concern?
Should we be worried about...?

Or practice question tags:
-The location of the property isn't a problem, is it?
-The survey shows the property boundaries clearly, doesn't it?

hope this helps...

Showem

Post by Showem » Tue Apr 04, 2006 8:32 pm

Thanks sbourque, it does help. I'd love to read some more ideas from people!

tigertiger

Post by tigertiger » Wed Apr 05, 2006 2:26 am

I just googled