self-esteam and learning

<b>Forum for teachers working with refugees </b>

Moderators: Dimitris, maneki neko2, Lorikeet, Enrico Palazzo, superpeach, cecil2, Mr. Kalgukshi2

Roooose

self-esteam and learning

Post by Roooose » Wed Apr 05, 2006 3:16 pm

Hiiii

how are you all

I am a new member here :D

I am a future teacher

I have a Q for you all

does student's self-esteam affects their learning of language?

what do you think?

thank you
:wink:

REG 1

Post by REG 1 » Fri Apr 07, 2006 9:32 pm

Hi

I'm a future teacher too. I believe that self-esteem has to effect the rate at which a person progresses. I'm not sure how true this is for adults as I'm training to teach children aged 5 to 11 years and this is certainly true for young children. Praise and encouragement is so important to their learning as if they are in a secure environment where they feel respected and worthy then they are more likely to learn. This is such an influential age where a teacher could really make a positive difference to their lives (or a negative one). I'm sure with older children and adults this is the same, certainly I know I like to feel confident in myself and when I do I put more effort into the things I do.

cnu_chw

Post by cnu_chw » Mon May 08, 2006 2:22 am

Hi,

How are you!
I'm a future teacher, too. Nice meeting you here.
I quite agree with REG 1 that self-esteem has great effect on students' progress, no matter they are young children or adults. I do believe that positive comments, praise or encouragement ( which can keep or give student self-esteem) do good to students' study. A Korean friend , who is over thirty and is studying Chinese in our university once said that his teacher seldom praise them after they answer a question. The teacher just say "Ok", or "Not bad" etc. Usually they do not feel good or encouraged with these responses. He said a teacher should give more praise to the students and that would do a lot good.