BIG QUESTION

<b> Forum for the discussion of everything ESP </b>

Moderators: Dimitris, maneki neko2, Lorikeet, Enrico Palazzo, superpeach, cecil2, Mr. Kalgukshi2

hadar590

BIG QUESTION

Post by hadar590 » Tue Oct 24, 2006 6:49 pm

Hi everyone

im a new teacher
I wanted to ask all of you one of the questions I ask myself about teaching Englsh.

How do you make it fun? How do you make the kids want to know onther language?
:shock:

Macavity

Post by Macavity » Thu Oct 26, 2006 9:28 am

sagit

Post by sagit » Tue Oct 31, 2006 6:21 pm

hi! if you're teaching pre school kids use a lot of songs, plays. game activities. if we're talking about older kids you should try to find out what interests them and try to build the english lessons refering to that. good luck

tHEhERETIC

Post by tHEhERETIC » Mon Nov 14, 2011 6:54 am

Use authentic materials where at all possible. My middle schoolers in Korea love their k-pop bands, so I found some old Backstreet Boys (I'm a fan) and introduced them. Same tropes, same kind of sound, but totally in English. They had a good laugh at their outfits, never quite knowing that I felt the same way about their idols.

Magazines of course, depending on your students' ability I'd aim for native-speaker magazines that are written for one grade lower than the one you're teaching. If you're teaching adults, look at gossip and fashion magazines as they tend to be written with lighter vocabulary than, say, Bloomberg. I know that's what I do when I have the time to refresh my French skills.

Setting up e-pals is a bit of work and I've never really followed through, but in theory that's another good way. However I did get a friend to write in-character as her stuffed animal and my elementary students enjoyed writing to the tiger.

millerd

Making It Fun

Post by millerd » Mon Dec 05, 2011 3:29 pm