Preschool education in Japan

<b> Forum for teachers working with preschool children </b>

Moderators: Dimitris, maneki neko2, Lorikeet, Enrico Palazzo, superpeach, cecil2, Mr. Kalgukshi2

lindsay

Preschool education in Japan

Post by lindsay » Thu Jan 18, 2007 5:33 pm

Hello!

I am currently studying early childhood education with the intensions of become a early years practitioner once I qualify.
I am looking for a preschool teacher in japan who could help me with a presentation I have to give as part of my course. We are looking at international perspectives of early years education and have chosen Japan as a focus.
Basically, I need to identify differences and similarities in Japan and British education. I want to know how a preschool operates in Japan and how the environment of a Japanese preschool looks.
Any help would be gratefully recieved!!

Sally Olsen
Location: Canada,France, Brazil, Japan, Mongolia, Greenland, Canada, Mongolia, Ethiopia next

Post by Sally Olsen » Thu Jan 18, 2007 11:41 pm

I taught preschool children in Japan - I presume you are talking about before 5 years old when they go to Kindergarten.

The main difference from Canadian children that I found was the emphasis on getting into the right school. There is a path that students can take that pretty well guarantees them a status position in the society so parents want their children to go to the right Kindergarten which will lead the child to go to the right Elementary School and thus Secondary School, and thus University and thus right job. So the pressure at the beginning to get them into the right Kindergarten is pretty tremendous.