Liyang's "Crazy English"

<b> Forum for the discussion on ESL/EFL textbooks </b>

Moderators: Dimitris, maneki neko2, Lorikeet, Enrico Palazzo, superpeach, cecil2, Mr. Kalgukshi2

Halapo

Liyang's "Crazy English"

Post by Halapo » Tue Dec 30, 2008 2:34 pm

First off, this is my opinion of the man Liyang.

I am an English teacher in China. Last month Liyang brought his "Crazy English" tour to my school. Before he went out in front of the students, he had a 2 hour chat with the Teachers. I attended this meeting. I now wish I hadn't. First off I do not expect to be called a "Gwai Louh" in China ( seeing as it is Cantonese not Chinese), second not to my face, and finally not in professional meeting with a supposed world traveler. He even said it in an English sentence! He followed it up with a some Chinese and "Laowai". Again, not something I expect in a professional meeting. And if he could call me a Gwai Louh to my face, what did he say with "Laowai" to my back? Anyway, that is honestly not to bad.

Then he said to the teachers "jeuqiao" and "xie ren" "Laowai" ( to bad for him the students and I had been working on "trust" and the week before we shared some "tricks" to play). I got the basics on my own, and a teacher filled me in later. He then asked me how much money I made, and wasn't happy with "enough". He hounded me a bit, and since he is a guest at the school, and the school was getting some face (we are not the biggest school in town, but we are the only place he came too), I went along. And again, that is not really to bad, from what I know, my salary is a well known secret on the campus. The part that got to me, and I was to shocked and embarrassed, was when he offered some of his breakfast. Sure, sharing food isn't so bad, but cold food? And not letting me use chopsticks, telling me to eat with my hands ( cold, wet dumplings, with my hands)?