Setting objectives

<b>Forum for teachers teaching adult education </b>

Moderators: Dimitris, maneki neko2, Lorikeet, Enrico Palazzo, superpeach, cecil2, Mr. Kalgukshi2

pengyou

Setting objectives

Post by pengyou » Wed Jan 13, 2010 7:15 am

I have taught these students for one semester and have discovered that they are all over the place in terms of abilities, strengths and weaknesses, etc. I am preparing for the next semester now. Can someone give me some ideas about how to set objectives? I have been teaching for almost 20 years in total, and still find this part of teaching to be difficult

dave-b

Post by dave-b » Sat Jan 16, 2010 5:55 am

Why not use something concrete and measurable like tests, assessments, etc?

Setting an objective like having a detailed conversation about the future just never seems to be that measurable.

However, if you have some assessment tests, or practice TOEIC/TOEFL tests, you could set objectives with reading, writing, listening, speaking, and grammar scores.

Not sure if this is the idea you wanted, but good luck with the course.

fluffyhamster

Post by fluffyhamster » Sun Jan 17, 2010 5:26 pm