Site Search:

Get TEFL Certified & Start Your Adventure Today!
Teach English Abroad and Get Paid to see the World!
Job Discussion Forums Forum Index Job Discussion Forums
"The Internet's Meeting Place for ESL/EFL Students and Teachers from Around the World!"

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Secondary teaching credential

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Job Discussion Forums Forum Index -> Indonesia
View previous topic :: View next topic  
MrWright

PostPosted: Thu Jun 27, 2013 3:21 am    Post subject: Secondary teaching credential Reply with quote

I am a high school teacher in Arizona. I teach history and biology. I know everyone will say "get an international school job". But from my research those are very, very competitive to get. I'm not saying I couldn't find one, but teaching English might be easier to get my foot in the door. So my question is do,any of you think my qualifications would help me land one of the better esl jobs? Also, I have both arms sleeved with tattoos. It's not a problem for me here (it helps that they look like colorful art and not gang or prison tats), but I wonder if that would be a deal breaking barrier there. If I have to wear long sleeve shirts, is that hell in the heat there? I appreciate any advice or insight anyone can offer. Thanks.
p1randal

PostPosted: Fri Jun 28, 2013 12:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I also wonder the same thing. I don't have the issue with Tattoo's but I do have the same curiosity in terms of education. I have a B.A in English & Spanish and an MA Tesol. Anyone know if it is possible to teach at International school with an M.A or do you have to be "certified."
pauleslteacher1

PostPosted: Fri Jun 28, 2013 4:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote