Site Search:

Get TEFL Certified & Start Your Adventure Today!
Teach English Abroad and Get Paid to see the World!
Job Discussion Forums Forum Index Job Discussion Forums
"The Internet's Meeting Place for ESL/EFL Students and Teachers from Around the World!"

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Would you consider Taiwan?
Goto page 1, 2  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Augustus

PostPosted: Mon Jul 22, 2013 10:44 am    Post subject: Would you consider Taiwan? Reply with quote

Hello

I've had contact from someone at m2rglobal and the above is what they have asked me. I wondered if anyone had any experience with this agency, they say I don't need any experience and they could get me a job out there.

I'm unsure, its not somewhere I would normally have considered. I am a newly qualified CELTA graduate and am looking for my first job.

What can I expect in terms of pay/board/accomodation/conditions?

Any advice on where to go to research such countries?

Augustus
Solar Strength

PostPosted: Mon Jul 22, 2013 8:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, I wouldn't. Not anymore.

It's just not as lucrative or congenial as other TEFL destinations.
romanworld

PostPosted: Tue Jul 23, 2013 10:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Most TEFL teachers are moving out of Taiwan in search of greener pastures. Taiwan is a song that has been sung. You definitely need to be looking elsewhere.
Augustus

PostPosted: Thu Jul 25, 2013 10:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oh dear ...

Is it even worth considering that I am a newly qualified CELTA holder, with limited experience?

Any reviews on the agency m2rglobal?

The agent did say the role was "perfect for a new graduate" but what you are saying seems to suggest that she is desperate for anyone, is that correct?

Thanks