Site Search:

Get TEFL Certified & Start Your Adventure Today!
Teach English Abroad and Get Paid to see the World!
Job Discussion Forums Forum Index Job Discussion Forums
"The Internet's Meeting Place for ESL/EFL Students and Teachers from Around the World!"

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Teaching IELTS in Madrid or other cities..
Goto page 1, 2  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Saigonjack

PostPosted: Thu Jun 05, 2014 5:23 am    Post subject: Teaching IELTS in Madrid or other cities.. Reply with quote

Hi....just a question...Whats the IELTS Teaching situation in Madrid or throughout Spain?..I have been teaching ESL for 16 years, and IELTS for the last 5/6 years. Thinking of relocating out of Asia!! What do people think? Is there work there? Or should I rely on my Business English teaching experience to get a job?..TKS
Saigonjack

PostPosted: Fri Jun 06, 2014 7:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

WOW ..over 50 views BUT no answers/pointers/info...does ANYBODY live and work in Spain?? Very Happy
grahamb

PostPosted: Sat Jun 07, 2014 9:35 am    Post subject: Spain Reply with quote

Try the British Council:

http://www.britishcouncil.org/spain/en
spiral78

PostPosted: Sat Jun 07, 2014 12:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Assuming you have a passport from an EU member country, there is work. It is not usually found from abroad (simply too many teachers around on the ground for schools to need to take a chance on someone sight-unseen), and peak hiring season is Sept/Oct. Very little work around over the summer.
Your experience in Asia may not be highly valued by employers; European students can be markedly different.
Most teachers here on the market have a CELTA or equivalent; if you haven't, you'll probably want to get one.
Saigonjack