Site Search:

Get TEFL Certified & Start Your Adventure Today!
Teach English Abroad and Get Paid to see the World!
Job Discussion Forums Forum Index Job Discussion Forums
"The Internet's Meeting Place for ESL/EFL Students and Teachers from Around the World!"

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Teaching jobs on Pacific Islands

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Job Discussion Forums Forum Index -> General Asia Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
slquoue

PostPosted: Wed Jan 07, 2015 6:44 pm    Post subject: Teaching jobs on Pacific Islands Reply with quote

I'm interested in knowing more about the opportunities for teaching on a Pacific Island, particularly Fiji. I have a CELTA and 3 years teaching experience, as well as an unrelated MA and BA.

Does anyone have any tips or suggestions on this subject?
esl_prof

PostPosted: Wed Jan 07, 2015 7:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are you a U.S. citizen? If so, you might investigate the following opportunities:

1. U.S. Peace Corps
http://www.peacecorps.gov/volunteer/

2. Fulbright Teaching Assistant Program
http://us.fulbrightonline.org/about/types-of-grants/english-teaching-assistant-grants

You might also do a Google search for NGOs and volunteer organizations that are doing work in that part of the world.
slquoue

PostPosted: Wed Jan 07, 2015 7:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am a UK citizen, and am more looking for actual ELT jobs that would at least cover living costs, rather than volunteer opportunities.
esl_prof

PostPosted: Wed Jan 07, 2015 7:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

slquoue wrote:
I am . . . looking for actual ELT jobs that would at least cover living costs, rather than volunteer opportunities.